Cost Effective Timber Felling. What!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gypo Logger

Timber Baron
Reaction score
Prior to going back to the bush, I thought I'd brush up on a few techniques.
So I looked on the web and here's all I could find.
John

Search this site:

Safe and Cost-Effective Tree Felling

The how and why of wedge cuts. February 26, 2005
Question
I have been running a chainsaw for close to 20 years now, and I have felled trees by cutting a wedge out and by just making a cut on the leaning side and one on the back side. I can't really tell any difference either way. Why is it recommended to cut a wedge out? I watched a Stihl chainsaw show on TV the other night and they were cutting a very shallow wedge that was way taller and wider than it was long and deep.

Forum Responses
From contributor R:
I knew a guy who would take the nose of the bar and plunge cut the heart of the tree out until there were only 2 or 3 ears left holding the tree. Then he would cut the ears off. He's the only person I have ever seen cut trees down that way. The last time I saw him he was keeping two skidders busy and he was 58.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From contributor J:
If the tree is well-balanced, a deep wedge is needed to offset the center of gravity, to get the tree to go the way you want it. If it is already leaning, there is probably no reason unless you just want to make sure it goes where you want it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------