critique my chain please? ... 3/8" Stihl RS. round file

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toadman

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So, I've been filing my own saws for a few years, but am always interested in doing everything better.
I just don't think It cuts as well as it could, and I would like to hear what you guys think as to why.

Attachments

• IMG_3494.jpg
    4.5 MB · Views: 105
  • IMG_3492.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 91
  • IMG_3482.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 92
So, I've been filing my own saws for a few years, but am always interested in doing everything better.
I just don't think It cuts as well as it could, and I would like to hear what you guys think as to why.
Billy ray would cheer your gullets,and top/side plates look great
it could be that your rakers could be dropped slightly more
for self feeding effect

I enjoy BBR videos too, and I admit I picked up a few things from his youtube:) I will see if my rakers are high.
I use an Oregon gauge marked at 0.63mm at the moment.
recommended raker specs?
Billy ray would cheer your gullets,and top/side plates look great
it could be that your rakers could be dropped slightly more
for self feeding effect

It does self feed a bit, but not as well as I'd like.