Cruising For Plus Trees In The Great White North

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I started working for BCFP Ltd, Renfrew Logging Division, in September of 1976. While most of the years I worked in the industry were as a Warehouseman/Buyer, I first started on the forestry crew with BCFP. Planting trees, (bare root and mattock back then) power-saw spacing, plantation cleaning and a few other tasks kept the crew busy throughout the year.
The Foreman of the crew was a Scottish trained forester named Frank White and I learned a tremendous amount about trees and forestry in a very short time from him. He was always good about answering questions and he was a very good teacher and straight up with you when you started. You were there for eight hours pay and in exchange Frank wanted eight hours work, minus the normal breaks of course. And he showed you the proper way to plant, the safe and proper way to space plantations, how to clean and care for your saw and a host of things most beginners needed to know.
I was 31 and one of the older guys on the crew plus I’d already served three years in the Canadian Navy and worked in mills and logging camps for eight years after that, mostly in a supervisory position, so I was responsible. I listened, I learned and I was able to work along at whatever pace the crew went at because I was also a surfer and in pretty good shape from that.
One morning I arrived at the forestry shack, where we mustered every day before heading out to whatever job we were on, to discover one of the several bears that lived around the camp had made a mess by tipping over the garbage can and spreading stuff all over. I put my gloves on and cleaned up the mess then went in and started putting my caulks on.