Do chains ground with CBN wheels retain their sharpness longer?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Kunte

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Hey, Guys!
I have been grinding chains for a commercial sawyer for about 9 months. He drops off 30 chains at a time every 3 months or so. At first I struggled to get feedback from him regarding the performance of the chains (he cuts a mixture of wet and dry wood). Eventually I was able to get his take on things. According to him, his chains used to net him 1 1/2 to 2 loads (that's one pickup plus a trailer full) per chain. Currently, he is managing 5 - 6 loads per chain. That's around 3x as much cutting per chain!
Question: what, in your opinion, is causing the chains to last so much longer? The only variable I can see at the moment is the CBN wheels I am using on my chain grinder. I know most saw shops use the standard vitreous wheels. Could it be that the finer finish left by the CBN wheels makes for a longer-lasting cutting edge? It's much the same with knives - when the edge is stropped, it tends to last longer.
What are your thoughts?
Thanks.
Mike

Maybe, sorta, kinda, in theory. A rougher edge presents a varying amount of steel to the item being cut. In theory a more uniform edge will last longer because there are no "high spots" or tiny "leading edges" getting dulled first which would lead to heat and friction leading to more dulling. In practice I don't know if it really works considering the variety of conditions he'd face cutting a pile of wood.

I do not think there is a big difference between a good edge and a perfect edge other than you get cuts in your hand easier with the latter.
Like previous answer, the difference is in something different.