Dolmar PS-420 bar and chain recommendations (Noob)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dbeast71

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, I'm hoping for some sound advice from the pros. I just bought a used 420 of ebay to replace my 290 that I lost to the ex:****you:. I'm new to this so have been doing a boatload of reading on here which has left me somewhat confused and slightly infected (CAD, now I want a 5105 and 6400 lol). I like best budget semi-pro/pro grade stuff which is why I chose the Dolly. I'm going to pick up a few loops, new bar, and sharpening stuff but before I do I need some advice.

Option 1: Oregon pro 91 16" bar and 91 vxl chain. Keep it simple.
I keep seeing that .325 might be a better choice but I don't plan to run a full chisel based on the comments that dirty wood and novices do better with SC. Maybe when my sharpening skills are honed I'll give the FC a shot.

Option 2: 420 spur .325 sprocket. 16" Oregon prolite 041 bar and Oregon 20BPX

Option 3: The 5100 rim drive with a .325 drum (7?) and 16" Oregon prolite 041 bar and Oregon 20BPX

I'll do the cat mod once I learn how to tune the carb. Planned usage of the saw will be carried on my off road rig for trail clearing, ice emergencies, ice fishing holes until I get an auger, and camping firewood. When at moose camp I'll fell and buck a few dead standing ponderosa pines and buck other deadfall and beetle kill, about a cord per trip with the occasional green ponderosa for the meat pole. Some day I'll have a cabin that will need some timber cleared but then it will probably be time for the 6400 for logs:D.

I know based on this usage almost any saw would work but after using a Craftsman while my buddy used a prograde Stihl I had to have a better saw. The 290 was alright but heavy, now that it's gone time to start over.