Echo 7310, Makita 79xx, Saw upgrade experience wanted

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hackjerb

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello!

First time poster, some time lurker.

I cut wood for the winter (Wood boiler) and general property maintenance on our 70 acres, south west Michigan. Recently moved to the property (< year) and grabbed a Echo CS- 590 to get some more power as a step up from several residential grade saws I'd run for years at our last home. It's been great, still is great. However, I really would like to step up in cutting time and saw size. I've got a lot of large maple, oak, walnut on our property and the 20" bar wouldn't make it half way through most of them. I also need to cross cut rounds IOT move them over to the splitter in a manageable size.

I'm new to larger saws, but have a significant amount of time wrenching on small motors (thanks dad) from when I was younger. Carb and simple saws appeal more and I'm more comfortable with that (Vs EFI types).

I'd like to be around a 28/30" bar to help out in the wood yard and with felling some of the larger trees around here. The 590 can handle limbing and smaller bucking.

I'm looking primarily at Echos and Makita, I don't cut full time, but cut frequently (~2/3 days a week). Might step up and cut more to sell wood as well. Don't want to spend a ton of money on a saw, just something simple, powerful and reliable.

Any insights or suggestions would be appreciated. I'm GUESSING that around 70/80cc would be a good fit for my needs but it's just a guess. If bigger would be more beneficial so be it, don't want to buy a 70cc just to need to get a 90 later lol. Educate me?

Thanks all!