Fallen Hickory - Cutting Advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mbaisley

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting. Would appreciate some advice.

First, I'm an amateur but I'm not a rookie. I have a good saw (Stihl 271 20") and I keep it sharp and well maintained. I have quality protective gear (kevlar chaps, gloves, helmet, face shield), and I am conservative about not taking undue risks. I exercise the utmost precaution in terms of safety. In other words, I generally have a good sense of what I can do myself versus when I should call a professional. I don't have an ego or hero mentality about stuff that can kill me.

I have a very nice, straight, mature hickory that blew down (uprooted) last summer. The canopy fell into some adjacent smaller trees,so the hickory is slightly suspended. At about 15 feet up the trunk (from the bottom of the trunk) it is suspended about 4 feet off of the ground. From there up into the canopy, it gets higher off of the ground and this is the part of the tree I'm worried about. Parts of the canopy are as much as 25 feet or so in the air, and the weight of the hickory is leaning heavy against the smaller trees.

My plan is to cut the hickory about 15 feet up the trunk (15 feet from the bottom) and let the weight of the canopy fall wherever it wants to. If it knocks down any of the smaller trees, I'm fairly confident they would fall away from me, but I would obviously give a lot of consideration to my escape route -- just in case.

I'm trying to figure out the kind of cut that would make sense from a "physics" standpoint.

I'm attaching pictures. My questions are:

(1) Does my basic plan sound okay?