Files Files miles of files..

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Where's the fire

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hiya all.. My first post so be gentle..

I have been using Stihl for a few years and used the files that come with the saw but I have bought a second hand 024 saw now and got it working.. So to my question;
Is there a list of round file sizes to get ? is there a standard set of round file sizes that would cover most chains ? I am not impressed with the Stihl files so I am in the market to buy decent files and Oregon seem to be the ones I'll go for as a Homey but I'm confused by the sizing.. Any one have a collection of files that have served them well over the years ?
Stihl Flat file is crap too so I am going to buy a decent one of those too but that must be a standard flat file I'm guessing..

Thank you all..

File size depends on the chain size. What size chain are you using.
Thanks for your response, I am aware there are file and chain matches but I was wondering if there were some file sizes that cover more than one chain, for instance if you don't know the size of the chain.. so put it another way I suppose I'm asking if there are comon file sizes ?

There tends to be one size of round file for each cutter size. That is, one file size for chains with various pitches: .325", .375", .375" lo pro, etc.

The 024 came with .325" chain. You don't say what your first saw is.

You will be fine using a 3/16" file for all .325" chain.

Roy

Thanks for your response, I am aware there are file and chain matches but I was wondering if there were some file sizes that cover more than one chain, for instance if you don't know the size of the chain.. so put it another way I suppose I'm asking if there are comon file sizes ?
I have 3 round files, 5/32 for the LP chain, 3/16 for the .325, and 7/32 for the bigger 3/8th chain and my spacing saw.