Filing with a file 1 size up?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MAWoodsman

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I picked up an Echo 4910 that calls doe a 3/16 file. Im new to filing, so im still working on getting it down.
However, i noticed i was getting quite a bit of hook on my top plate with the 3/16 file. So I grabbed a 7/32 file and tried that. It brought the top plate back perfect and the gullet and side plate looks good to. Ive been using the 7/32 ever since.

Is there anything wrong with doing this? Does anyone else here do the same thing?

@Philbert will hopefully have some wise words to share on the subject for you.
In the meantime, my input is as follows...
The ideal size of file depends not only on the manufacturers recommendation but how much hook you are wanting to achieve, how far into the gullet you are wanting to file & how much of the tooth has been filed. It's not uncommon to either start filing a new chain with a size above the recommend or finish filing a chain at the end of it's life with an undersized file. Generally the chain manufacturer would expect you to use their recommend file & raise or lower it in the tooth to achieve the correct hook. Different strokes for different folks, my suggestion is if it's working well for you stick with it.
On a side note, if you post a pic or 2 of your chain you may get some additional input

Consider the manufacturer’s specs as ‘starting points’. Then adjust to what suits you.

Some people like a more aggressive or less aggressive chain. The type of wood that you are cutting also matters. STIHL and Oregon recommend different size files for their 3/8” pitch chain, so the brand of the chain can also matter.

If you are happy how it cuts, stick with it.

Philbert