Haix Protective Chainsaw Boots Review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AKTrailDog

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Greetings, thought I'd throw my 2 cents down with a review of the Haix Protector Ultra Boots

I've been wearing these boots for the last 2 years. Love them! (I'm lucky if I get 2 yrs out of a pair of boots). I've owned Nick's, White's, Wescos and Danners over the last 20+ years and have had them rebuilt as well. These are my all around work boot and I can't tell you how many hours I've spent on them or the hundreds of miles I've hiked in them but I do know they are extremely comfortable.

My job and my home life requires me to hike and work in all weather conditions throughout the year while carrying saws and numerous other things. They support my feet and ankles well, provide great protection against scrapes and abrasions while bushwhacking and of course while operating a chainsaw. I like the high ankle support (flexible but not too much) and love the waterproofness of them (pretty incredible actually). I can saw all day long in the snow and even when the boots are wet, my feet aren't. I can wear them in subfreezing temps down to about 0 before I really think of which footwear I'm going to put on. They're not insulated. The vibram soles are good, not great like lug soles but are efficient. walking around on decked logs feels very sturdy as well. They were stiff as a board when I was breaking my feet in but since, they are very comfy. I'm also impressed with the weight of the boot, they don't feel heavy at all which is nice when hiking lots of miles. The stitching has held up throughout the boot as well. I do not tree climb, though I'm starting to dabble in that world a bit so I don't know what they feel like climbing trees all that much.