Has my wood chipper chipped its last branch?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

awmartin

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Long time reader, first time poster. I bought a house which had this wood chipper (Dr Chipper 16 HP C163) in the garage. I have no experience with much of anything, but somehow I finally got it running. Unfortunately, I believe that the clutch is bad as the engine runs but the part which is supposed to turn the belt doesn't move.

If this is a clutch, DR Chipper wants $450 for the part. The DR Chipper manual states that the shoes and springs within the clutch need to be replaced.

How much trouble am I in? Is it worth putting in more time and money into this or should I just buy another chipper?

I have uploaded a video to youtube of this running. I will try to embed it, although if that doesn't work you can find it here.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Thank you very much for any help you can provide.

Attachments

• IMG_1126.jpeg
    IMG_1126.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 10
Hello everyone. Long time reader, first time poster. I bought a house which had this wood chipper (Dr Chipper 16 HP C163) in the garage. I have no experience with much of anything, but somehow I finally got it running. Unfortunately, I believe that the clutch is bad as the engine runs but the part which is supposed to turn the belt doesn't move.

If this is a clutch, DR Chipper wants $450 for the part. The DR Chipper manual states that the shoes and springs within the clutch need to be replaced.

How much trouble am I in? Is it worth putting in more time and money into this or should I just buy another chipper?