help, why am I grooving

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chainsaw papa

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello and thanks for your time , I am relatively new to this although i have been cutting 10 chords a year for about ten years now so i'm used to chain sharpening for the purpose of tearing through fast. However I've only milled just over thirty ten footers and ive been having trouble with grooving through out the cut like a washboard. I'm using a stihl 461 with a 32 inch bar. Everything I've been milling is between 15- 24 wide, all red oak that's been standing dead and one old maple. I'm assuming the problem is with the chain and more specifically me sharpening it. I've been having a few issues, originally my stihl dealer gave me a pair of full skip chain when i asked for ripping chain and told me they were the same which iv'e now leaned the differences ,, after the second cut or so with the new chain its been taking me over 20-27 min for a 9+ foot oak 15-20 inchs across, sometimes running out of gas before it finishes. I "feel" like i'm sharpening it well and doing it after every cut at this point. I'm using the stihl long gauge you lay on top of the chain to check the depth gauge risers but no matter how many times i have filled the chain it still says they don't need to get filled down even tho it acts like its blowing powder out, am i just using it wrong?Do those gauges not work on skip chain for some reason? I can only assume my chain is no longer grabbing anything as progress eventually ground till a halt but the gauge still reads below the file level. So this painfully slow forever filing is all I ever knew. After getting frustrated with the saw not cutting i threw on a new regular chain that I had picked up, I started cutting the same logs in 7-8 min, half a tank of gas leftover and the saw was pulling me through out the cut gently, it was