Help with splitter problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soundside

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all, I’m a newb here, looking for help with an old homemade splitter my dad built probably 40 years ago. Been sitting for maybe 15 years. He built it from scrounged cylinder and valve that came from some kind of heavy industrial machinery. It had an ancient Koehler motor, I think maybe 8hp, and 1056 pump. I couldn’t get the engine running and happened to have a 5.5 Honda sitting around so I swapped it out. I know that is likely part of my problem, but the symptoms seem to point elsewhere. When the ram hits the log, it doesn’t stall, but it doesn’t go to second stage. It just drops some speed and keeps running. From what I’ve read that sounds like a cylinder sealing issue. But before I tear into the cylinder I wanted to rule other issues out if possible. I don’t have pressure gauges but thought there might be some general checks I could do. One thing I thought I’d look at is the valve bypass setting. But this valve is a mystery. Can anyone identify this thing? Only ID I can find on it is 311678, searched online not finding anything. Is the adjuster under the big plug on the side? Any clues are appreciated, also general suggestions for troubleshooting. Thanks.

Attachments

• 1DDDE03D-56B1-4AF6-BED5-E0D6778943C9.jpeg
    1DDDE03D-56B1-4AF6-BED5-E0D6778943C9.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 1
What do you mean by "drops some speed and keeps running"
Is the ram still moving or no?
When the ram encounters the log it stops. But there is “some” pressure. It pushes the wood hard enough that the wedge enters maybe 1/4”. The engine is definitely feeling a load, and slows a little in response to the load. But it’s like it’s “slipping”. And it doesn’t downshift to the second stage.
I’m second guessing everything now. Among other things….