How to cut the ends of high branches that overhang a house's roof and gutter.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DendrophileTom

Reaction score
I am not a professional arborist. I have taken a 3 day class on tree climbing, purchased climbing gear for Double Rope Technique climbing and I have been climbing trees for pruning purposes for the last 2 years in my spare time. I also have a 21' Silky Zubat pole saw with a pruning head. My son has a large oak tree, about 15-20' from his house, which has numerous limbs which overhang his front roof and gutter, which he would like removed, safely. The roof is too steep to prune the ends of the branches with the pole saw from the roof. I can limb walk the branches about 5' out from the trunk so I can get my version of a rigging rope around the branches at that point. But because the branches farther out split and narrow in diameter I do not feel safe going out any farther. Both my son and I are concerned that if I place the "rigging" rope around the branches 5' from the trunk, and cut the branches 3-4' from the trunk, the ends of the branches will swing down across the roof and damage the gutters. The branches are 25-35' off the ground and are very flexible towards their ends so I am not sure that I could use a cutting chain thrown around them, just off the roof of the house, to cut off the ends. Any ideas from those more experienced than myself would be greatly appreciated.

What is the diameter of the branch where you can get to, and how much farther would you ideally like to get your rope out? I'm not a professional either, but these are some ideas that I would think about in a situation like yours:

Did you try throwing the rigging rope out farther? A throwing bundle or noose will help to add weight to the end for tossing.

Can you use a throw ball to place your rigging rope?