How to Go Form .325 chain to 3/8

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkellyusa

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have an Echo 4910 chainsaw that came with .325 chain. It's my first time using that size chain and while I haven't had any problems with it I would like to change it over to work with 3/8 chain. My reason for wanting to do this is that there are a lot more chain options and better chain available in the 3/8 size. I've heard others claim that they just ran 3/8 on the stock sprocket. I am not sure if that is the best solution so I am asking what others have done and if I need a different sprocket where do I get the one I need. Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide.

3/8" chain comes in either full size or LP (Picco). Not sure which you are trying to change to.
Neither will run on your existing sprocket. Take your sprocket to a decent saw shop they should be able to sell you what you want.
Note that you will need to change the bar as well (sprocket nose is set for the .325 you have. Make sure the gage matches the chain as well (0.050, 0.058, 0.063).

Small 3/8 7T rim sprocket is what you need. Plus matching bar chain.

But IMHO stock or even muffler modded 4910 your not going to like with full size 3/8.

What you should try IMO if wanting more chain speed is put a 325 8T rim on instead of the 7T that comes on it. Then about same size as the 3/8 7T rim.

There is some really good 325 chains out there. RS pro, RSC, RS, LPX, LGX. LPX smooth in the cuts limbing etc.

I tested 3/8LP picco 7T, 3/8 full size 7T and 325 7T on my ported and muffler modded 490. Going to try the 325 8T someday. But really liking it with the 3/8LP picco set up. It's just my light trimming limbing saw.

But with that set up been flawless during my storm clean up.

e490blk.jpge490picco.jpg