how to tell apart 371XP vs 372XP vs 365 Special

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karl2020

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to the site and pretty excited to post my first ever question. First of all, I'd like to point out how useful this site is and really appreciate the knowledge base around here. I'm just an amateur do-it-yourselfer from Thunder Bay, ON where pulp and paper and forestry used to be the main industry. I don't cut professionally nor am i mechanic, but i tinker in all sorts of things- saws being the latest.

Anyway, I'm fixing up what looks like a mid 90's Husky saw my step dad gave me to tinker with and hopefully get back up and running. I thought he was giving me his old 372XP to work on which stopped running 2 summers ago. What he gave me instead was some pro saw with a 365 Special decal on the recoil. I suspect the saw is actually a 371 XP since it looks suspiciously like my own 371 XP (orange head cover clips, Walboro carb, one piston ring). The saw he gave me has been through the gears and back to say the least...It's missing the little black model # ID plate usually found on the oil tank. Like a lot of bush guys around here, he's a whiz on a saw but doesn't care much for maintaining it...So he's not even sure himself which saw he gave me. Anyone know how i can tell for sure which saw i have without the black model # decal?

In summary: I thought i was getting a 372XP which I know he did own at one time (seen it with my own eyes). But what i got instead was a saw with a 365 Special recoil but appears to be the inner workings of a 371XP.

Thanks!

-Karl

Check the cylinder bore, 50mm is 372, 48mm (I think) is 365 .
Oh yeah! Ok that makes total sense to tell apart a 365 from 372/371. Thanks for that suggestion. I'll check tonight to rule out whether it's a 365 or not.