husky 394 chain type

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mn man

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I currently run a 24 inch bar with full chisel 3/8 .50 on my 394. Im looking into trying either semi skip or full skip chain but i have no experience with anything other then full chisel. Most of my cutting is logs on the ground that have been laying for quite some time. suggestions on what version of chain would best suits my cutting situations? And the saw is not ported, no muffler mod, and i do have a bigger bar and chain for it.

Stihl 33rm or Oregon 72dp was best for ground fall. But not available in skip if i remember.
33rsf is chisel in semi skip from Stihl

Where you at? I'm in western wi and have some different setups for my 395s if you want to try some options. Personally I don't think there will be a benefit to running skip on that bar length, but some people do like it.

Where you at? I'm in western wi and have some different setups for my 395s if you want to try some options. Personally I don't think there will be a benefit to running skip on that bar length, but some people do like it.
half hour south of rochester. I've never really tried anything other then a basic full chisel chain and i've been watching videos on, and reading about what chains people are using and what their reasons are for each application. I have a 32 inch bar with a skip chain that i havent had to use yet so i guess i could throw that on and see if i like it... Majority of the wood i cut is perfect for the 24 inch bar though