Husqvarna 359 bar/chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dlillie87

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I bought a 359 etech today for $200 without a bar. I bought a 20 inch bar for the 455 rancher, because that's what the guy told me the saw was. It doesnt fit so I'm looking at bar and chain recommendations for the 359. What thickness chain runs well on these, .050 or .058. It looks like I can get the .058 bar a little cheaper. I've been looking into the saw, and might be porting it to get a few more umphs out of it. I'm not a pro, will probably run the saw few - several times a month.

Attachments

• 20210428_145117.jpg
    20210428_145117.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 13
  • 20210428_145454.jpg
    20210428_145454.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 13
  • 20210428_145955.jpg
    20210428_145955.jpg
    116.1 KB · Views: 13
Also, just out of curiosity, did I get effed on the deal. The guy posted it as a 455 rancher, didn't come with a bar but does have a chain (no clue what size other than 20"). It runs, but havent been able to do anything since the bar and chain dont match. I'll tear into it tomorrow and get a better idea of what kind of shape it's in. But overall, a359 etech with no bar for $200, ok deal?

I didn't even think to look at the saw label to see if it was a 455 like the guy said, I found out when I put the bar and chain on

Is the 455 Rancher not K095 mount as well?
Did whoever sell you the bar sell you the correct bar for a 455?

Use the gauge of chain that is most common to your area/dealers. I am guessing that will be 3/8" 0.050, sometimes 0.058 can be hard to find in the States and 0.050 is far more common.
As long as the drive sprocket is 3/8", you match the groove of the bar to the chain- you can run 0.050, 0.058, or 0.063- you just need to match the chain to the bar rail groove.