Husqvarna 61 white top question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nickh0902

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I picked up a white top 61 in good shape. Needs the seals replaced and the carb rebuilt. I noticed some scoring on the piston. Saw seems to have good compression. I would like to keep it stock. If I buy a new hyway 61 piston and cylinder will my muffler and Intake bolt back up correctly? I’m new to the husky stuff. I know there is some changes between the older 61 saws and the newer ones. Wasn’t sure how that worked with the replacement p/c. Any other recommendations on p/c for this saw are welcome. I also need to replace the handle/ fuel tank because it leaks at the bottom. Pic included for date. Thanks

Attachments

• 4489732F-19CA-4D0F-AB8A-A548CFEC6E71.jpeg
    4489732F-19CA-4D0F-AB8A-A548CFEC6E71.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 9
I picked up a white top 61 in good shape. Needs the seals replaced and the carb rebuilt. I noticed some scoring on the piston. Saw seems to have good compression. I would like to keep it stock. If I buy a new hyway 61 piston and cylinder will my muffler and Intake bolt back up correctly? I’m new to the husky stuff. I know there is some changes between the older 61 saws and the newer ones. Wasn’t sure how that worked with the replacement p/c. Any other recommendations on p/c for this saw are welcome. I also need to replace the handle/ fuel tank because it leaks at the bottom. Pic included for date. Thanks
Dices q tiene buena compresión entonces: ¿porque cambiar cilindro y pistón?

Why are you considering replacing the cylinder?

Good compression + some scoring...would suggest to me, new piston and ring.

My question as well. Post up pics of cylinder. It seems to be a bit of a fad, to buy a a/m cylinder/piston kit, whether the saw needs it or not. I’d stay with original cylinder at least if possible.