I’m building a winch to pull large fat lighter stumps out of the ground, could use some advice/help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sevin910

Reaction score
I want to preface this by saying I am new to mechanics and building stuff in general, so some of this could be completely wrong and a terrible idea, and If it is, please let me know…I’m inexperienced, and trying to teach myself this kind of stuff, so criticism is welcomed as is better ideas; also my budget is super tight so I’m trying to build this with stuff I already have at the house/ stuff I can get pretty cheap…and I have a ton of junk laying around.

So heres my game plan so far. I have a large Gearbox I plan to use, and I have a 6hp Predator Motor that will be running the winch. Still on the fence as to whether I will be using pulleys or roller chains and sprockets. I want this winch to be mounted on its own little “trailer” that I can pull into the woods behind my gas powered golf cart. When I’m ready to start winchin’ I plan to unhook from the golf cart, and chain it off to the nearest two large trees. I have a mounting base that I plan to use. It’s actually the support from an old 10hp compressor. I need to put an axle or 2 axles under it, but I need to be able to lift the wheels up somehow, and let the steel frame sit directly on the ground because I’m sure they would bust from the pressure. I have some drop down axles I can use. I plan on welding these 2 flywheels to the side of this huge pole as the drum. Let me know if you see any better ideas. Here are some photos of the stuff I have already, I will upload photos of all the other stuff as soon as I get home. Thanks.

Attachments

• 79DCA2F3-B61D-4766-AAF9-CA04C1B7C35B.jpeg
    79DCA2F3-B61D-4766-AAF9-CA04C1B7C35B.jpeg
    4.2 MB · Views: 1
  • E3A3705F-E718-40F7-8DA5-FE74E35129E6.jpeg
    E3A3705F-E718-40F7-8DA5-FE74E35129E6.jpeg