I'm 'hunting' for beginner advice please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HeadInTheClouds

Reaction score
As the title alludes to, I'm an avid hunter. I am not looking to climb professionally, nor do I need any gear for felling.

What I am interested in, however, is lightening my hunting gear and finding a safe, reliable way to get up a tree, mount my stand, and enjoy the day. I am a carpenter by trade and I've used both construction and hunting style harnesses. Neither are ideal for what I'm looking for. I believe that this community of Arborculturists (I sure hope that how you all identify, or that I'm wearing tasty footwear...) has the answer that I'm looking for.

I believe that what I need is a full tree-climbing harness with side D-rings and a rear dorsal ring (for hooking up once in my stand), a body positioning belt/system, and a pair of climbing spikes.

Am I wrong in this assumption? Is there more that I would require to safely climb a tree, pull up my stand, strap it on, and sit down? And would anyone have any suggestions on quality, comfortable equipment?

Or am I just crazy to think that this is a viable option? You'd think that someone already thought of this but in all my interweb searches, I have been unable to find gear suited for this task (or more specifically, camoflauge-colored gear or gear that won't make a lot of noise)