Is muriatic acid really safe on chrome cylinders? (and other newbie questions)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Einsame Hirte

Reaction score
Greetings! I've been searching the net for answers, and this seems to be the place for the chainsaw gurus.

I'm new to small engine work, and I'm learning on an old Shindaiwa 577 that was given to me because it won't start. Rebuilt the carb with no luck, then checked compression - 86 lbs dry and 134 wet. Pulled the exhaust and saw the piston was scored (I don't know enough to qualify how badly). Pulled the cylinder and found a bunch of transfer on the exhaust side. Intake side was pretty spotless, which apparently suggests it was running lean, so I guess I should vac test it later if I get that far.

PXL_20210619_001408561.jpg(Image 1. Cylinder after only some light sanding with 320 grit and crocus cloth)

I did a bunch of research on how to clean the transfer off the cylinder, and a lot of sources (including a couple of posts here) say that muriatic acid works well and is safe on both nikosil and chrome plated cylinders. This one is chrome, so I gave it a shot, and it did remove most of the transfer except for a couple of stubborn spots. However, the swabs kept picking up a bright green color that wasn't described in the sources I found. This is the color of chromium chloride, and suggests that the acid is reacting with the cylinder lining in addition to the aluminum. A little more research found that muriatic (hydrocholoric) acid is actually used when deliberately removing chrome plating.

PXL_20210620_025314080.jpg(Image 2. Cylinder after an hour or so of acid swabbing - only heated it with an air gun a couple times; I wanted to keep the reaction rate under control, especially when I realized it was etching the chrome).