Is Stihl 4Mix to be avoided, looking at strimmers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
@salvagedrover you’ve been here for 15 years with 6 post and you write a book replying to a year old thread? That part is kinda funny but…What the heck is with the weird cook and lover line?
I don’t remember, it’s been a while since I’ve been on here, but why would you bother at all to see how long I’ve been on here or how many posts I’ve posted? Are you looking for things to pick on me about? I’m a STIHL gold tech, I can program m-tronic and KOHLER EFI, and make $60 an hour working on homeowner machines for them when I feel like it, I’m happy with myself so insult away my friend.

The “lover and cook” part, reading back, was a joke, I guess I went out on a limb expecting more people on here to pick up on what I figured to be a pretty obvious humor tangent.

I can't fathom how anyone could buy a 4-mix when there are MUCH better alternatives. 2-strokes are lighter, more powerful for their size/weight, cheaper, cheaper to maintain, WAY less moving parts, and require NONE of the maintenance you need to do with a 4-stroke. When tuned right, a 2-stroke will ALWAYS start much easier / faster than any 4-stroke. Plus, you STILL have to premix it! Zero benefits.

Been working on small engines for 30 years. Just calling it like I see it.