Italian Cypress help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 187322

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm brand new to this and The reason I got into this is because my mom has these 5 dead Italian cypresses. So me trying to save her money I went on Amazon and had her order me this climb kit that came with a harness, flipline and gaffs needless to say I returned them because the gaffs were held together with zipties. Anyway after over 2 grand in high quality gear I still haven't gotten high enough to start cutting them down insections ( because of power lines on both sides of the trees) My problem is my gaffs keep slipping. I went from tree gaffs to pole gaffs which Is a little better but everytime lean forward to flip my line they want slip out from underneath me. So I have to lean really far back to to keep them stuck in the tree and after about 40 feet up it gets really bad. I would greatly appreciate any constructive criticism

Removing trees for the first time around power lines is a no go. I would return all your equipment unless you plan on using it for other projects in the future and pay a competent climber or an insured tree service with a bucket truck to get them on the ground for you. You can do the clean up.
It will probably cost less than the amount you spent on the equipment and you won't die.

Bucket truck can't get close it's up to me and I'm determined to get this done even if it kills me

Attachments

• IMG_20221109_165524668_HDR-01-01.jpeg
    IMG_20221109_165524668_HDR-01-01.jpeg
    969.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20221106_135506442_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20221106_135506442_HDR.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20221109_165543530_HDR-01.jpeg
    IMG_20221109_165543530_HDR-01.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20221109_165634190-01.jpeg
    IMG_20221109_165634190-01.jpeg
    1,019.3 KB · Views: 0