Jasen’s port thread

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jasent

ELR junkie
Reaction score
Thought I’d start a thread on the saws I port.
I’m a beginner in a way. I used to port nitro rc cars back in the day. I’ve now got a power saw addiction. I’ll list the saws I’ve ported and the numbers I use. I do work saws not race saws so all these saws will be “woods ported”. Hopefully it helps someone out and if not it will give you guys something to point and giggle at. All criticism welcome. I’m learning as I go and I’m thick skinned so don’t hold back.

First saw I ported was a ms 361. I got this saw years ago in a trade and being young and dumb I cold seezed it first week I had it. Saw sat for years buried in the shop. Fast forward 10 years and I get my family farm. The place is a wreck and the 40 year old mobile home is rough! Power bill in the winter was often $500 or more! So I put in a wood stove and my dad bought me a ms170 and ms391. That’s where my chainsaw addiction started. After a summer/fall of cutting lodge pole for firewood I started doing research on keeping my saws working well and it lead to an addiction that has put my ELR shooting on the back burner. I’m a landscaper by trade but grew up with a logger/brick layer for a father. I’ve always loved chainsaws and cutting wood.

So I decided to rebuild my 361. I have been following Tinman on YouTube and decided I should port chainsaws. May as well it’s just a bigger rc car motor. Since it would be my first I went with aftermarket farmertec kit and went big bore for the 361. At first I just put the saw together and got it running well ......