Jonsered 521 E No Start

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmkberger

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie and a home owner with a Jonsered 521E that I aquired after a dear friend of mine passed away in January. The saw has been in storage for quite a while and will not start. I have to say that I have had it running, but it will not start when it is all put together as it should. My thought is that there is a problem in the fuel pump or carburetor.... I have disassembled the carb and have checked the fuel pump the best I know how without instruction.
I can say the carb was in fairly decent shape with minimal debris inside. I took the carb completely apart and cleaned everything with carb cleaner, I pulled the pump and tried to blow through it, and like I think it's supposed to, it did not allow me to blow through, but if I sucked on the outlet it would allow little amounts of air to pass through.
Where can I buy the fuel pump or a fuel pump kit and where can I get a carb rebuild kit?
I'm a 45 year professional mechanic and have worked on my own motorcycles for decades, both four and two stroke bikes as well as lawn mowers and anything that has a piston and makes noise...
Could someone out there give me a push in the right direction for getting the rebuild kits and info on what I might be missing?
Thanks so much, dmkberger

I would start by getting the owner's manual, the shop manual, and the parts list...if you don't already have them. You can ask for them in The Beg For Manual thread on this site.

What does the saw do when you dump half a teaspoon of mixed gas down the plug hole, and try to start it?

What make/model of carb do you have?

Roy

I would start by getting the owner's manual, the shop manual, and the parts list...if you don't already have them. You can ask for them in The Beg For Manual thread on this site.