Jonsered - revs very high at start but runs good at WOT

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deanpeddle

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi folks, I have a 5 year old Jonsered CS2240 S (Same as husky 435 I’m told). Saw was running perfectly until about one week ago, when it started to race with no throttle applied. I was able to adjust the idle screw to almost get rid of the turning Chain but not quite. Ive also set the high and low screws to factory settings (manual says 2 out for H, 2.5 for L). Now the saw starts up and runs at about 5500 rpm for a few seconds but If I don’t touch the throttle it will shut off. If I hold the throttle wide open it will run up to about 11500-12000rpm and stay there. I tried several slight adjustments to the high and low but it’s not improving the condition. (However I’m not very experienced with this). Couple other notes: (1) to eliminate the Carb as a problem I installed a new one ... but nothing changed (so put old one back on) (2) compression is 120psi.

could this be the result of an air leak? My research indicates that adjusting H/L with an air leak is just masking the problem. What do you think?

This symptom is usually leak before the carb, when you hit the throttle it sucks the boot or whatever in there hard and it seals the leak. When idling the suction is weak and exposes the leak

Compression is definitely low
Yes tuning masks minor air leak, but its common and is fine as long as leak not too severe

A bit of air leakage plus adjusting the carburettor is a free saw tuning ;-). This is how I used my first chainsaw in 10 years . The disadvantage is that then the saw itself works about 5 seconds at idle speed and goes out