large branches 12 inch diameter over house

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

incogiam

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
HI. I am new to site and started tree removal business three years ago. What is the best way to remove branches overhanging house.Thank you.

Rig them down...if nothing above, sometimes that means small pieces with redirects to the rigging.
Crane - whether traditional or grapple saw.

NEVER with a bucket truck that isn't designed for use as a crane (very few are).

But regardless, it starts with learning from somebody who knows how!

Any competent tree removal business should know how to remove trees....kinda goes with the name, don't you think..... ?
Licensed, insured, etc?
If you aren't familiar with rigging, on the job over a customers roof is not the place to be learning on your own....
cutting little pieces bending them over into basket then cutting bark to release
Uhhhhhh........ Ohhhkaaay.......
iwlZZ85.gif

I am insured. Never had someone to teach me. I have just finished a 21 tree removal for local town. 3rd year in business,15 year cutting firewood for home each year. I just know i could be more efficient. My truck has a jib,but as far as rigging goes i'm lost.

Get yourself the following if you have no rigging kit already, which by the sounds of it, you don't.

1 x https://www.wesspur.com/items/kit09.html
Couple of rigging rings from https://wesspur.com/slings/rigging-ring-slings.html are real nice to have as well

First...look around on YouTube...there's some pretty good rigging videos. Make sure you watch enough so that you know the difference between people that know what they're doing, and those that don't. Make sure you understand how to setup and use the port-a-wrap, it's not necessarily obvious how it works. Learn how to set up and use the loopie/woopie/deadeye slings.