Light weight bars

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MFV

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience running light weight bars on the large stihl saws? I guess it’s the s2 mount I think I am going to try to find one for my 880 I am thinking 28-32”. I am currently running a stihl 36” which is good but it is nose heavy.

I run Stihl lightweight bars on nearly every saw I own. Can’t say a bad thing about them. In fact they make the lightest “light” bar currently on the market. I think some of the Sugi bars come close but I have no experience with them. Anyway I run them because my back is screwed up so any weight savings I can get really helps. I have a 28” light bar on my 038 mag as well as my Dolmar 7900 which is nearly 79cc. Not a 880 but it’s a good size saw.

I run the stihl ES light bar at 20in on all my 460 and 461 saws, the difference in weight is worth it but they bend real easy and are basically junk afterward.

I have an unused Stihl 32" light bar and full comp chain in 3/8 0.050 I'd be willing to sell. Came with my 500i and I never used it.

I might be interested in partial trade for a 36" bar and full skip chain. Used and standard weight would be fine, will likely never be used.

I’m running the Stihl light bars on all my bigger saws and love em! My 661 has a 36” light bar, and the difference between it and the standard bar is nicely very noticeable. The quality is excellent too.

I purchased a 28” Husqvarna baranded Sugi light bar, but it doesn’t feel much lighter than the standard Oregon made Husqvarna 28 inch’r.

The short of is I’m a big fan, especially with the Stihl light bars.