Log splitter cylinder repair

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

radio

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I have an MTD 31 ton splitter that's leaking fluid out the front of the cylinder and the hydraulic fluid in the tank is very low. I lent it to a neighbor :(

The little research I've been able to do is MTD used either a Fisher or a Best Metals cylinder, I have the Best. It's a 5" with 24" stroke and 2" shaft. I can't seem to find any more details, service manual or IPL for it. I have no experience with hydraulics. Can the cylinder be repaired?

Attachments

• PXL_20211117_172112263.jpg
    PXL_20211117_172112263.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 33
  • PXL_20211117_170257616.jpg
    PXL_20211117_170257616.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 30
A machine shop should be able to weld/repair that right up for ya and replace any seals if desired/required. A new cylinder from a discount surplus supply type place may not be much more though.

A machine shop should be able to weld/repair that right up for ya and replace any seals if desired/required. A new cylinder from a discount surplus supply type place may not be much more though.
You have any references for supply houses?

I did find some equivalent new USA manufactured cylinders in the $300 to $400 range but not direct replacements. Would require new metal high pressure hose and fittings, not sure of the cost on that yet.

A little further investigation and I see that the front plate is held in place by a snap ring. I would need a ring expander tool to remove it. The seal kit on a few parts websites is around $170 and they are all listed as discontinued with no replacement suggestions. I'm thinking I may only need the font seals as it doesn't seem to have lost splitting power so I assume the piston seals are ok.