Log splitter engine size ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Beware of pressure washer engines because they often have tapered shafts which makes it difficult to attach a hydraulic pump.
Not the ones I have used, They are a direct replacement. Unless you are talking about horizontal shaft engines, Those I have no experience with. The pressure washers with the vertical shaft engines (Like a push Lawnmower that lays flat) These vertical shaft engines have a straight shaft that is the perfect length for the log splitters with vertical shafts and also have the correct pump bracket mounting hole pattern, Although it is a funky pattern.

This I do know, Small Generator engines have a tapered shaft for sure.

This I also know, A push mower vertical engine is not a direct fit as the shaft is too long and the controls are not self contained.

I helped my neighbor replace his engine on a Troy-Bilt 22 ton log splitter and the honda engine we removed from a pressure washer with a bad pump fit perfectly with no alterations of any kind at all. This was the second replacement motor, As the one we removed was also an old pressure washer engine that was labeled "Powerstroke" we made quite a bit of fun with that. It was a chinese honda clone that smoked real bad and had no power.

Stock photo from google, But the 2nd engine was just like this one.
1676413367079.png
So the Troy-Bilt is on it's 3rd engine with 2 of them being used pressure washer engines.

Beware of pressure washer engines because they often have tapered shafts which makes it difficult to attach a hydraulic pump.

A+
because they often have tapered shafts