Looking for a new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi all. I’ve been reading a lot of saw reviews on this site and have learned a lot more about saws, fuel and especially how to store them over winter.
About me: I've been using saws for 30 or so years, grew up on acreage in Missouri and the first saw I ever used was a McCullough Power Mac 310 (top handle). I never actually knew about rear handled saws until I got a hand me down Pro Mac 650 with a 24" bar.
Since I learned on a top handle, I find all rear handle saws clunky, unbalanced and cumbersome. I have read many times that the rear handle are safer and I will acknowledge I'm not risk averse (i.e. I still like the feel of a top handle). When I go back to missouri I generally end up helping my father out with some tree trimming, and while I'm not a professional tree climber (although i did pick up a pair of spikes year ago) I am a rock climber and still climb trees like I did when I was a kid. Many times I've gone up a tree to cut off a limb when I'm back in missouri which is another reason I like a well balanced saw.

I live at about 9800 feet elevation in colorado, and my normal saw has been a power mac 6 (yep, roughly 50 years old) with a 14" bar. I have about an acre, mostly lodgepole pine (8-10" trunks) and some tall spruce (20-24" trunks). I generally use a saw about 5 times a year, and when I do I'll cut down a few pine beetle kill trees and maybe once a year a spruce. Back in 2007-2008, i had to cut about 50 trees from my property with pine beetle kill.