McCulloch Mac 2-10 (Bullfrog carb swap)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garflop

Reaction score
I now own my uncles mint mac 2-10, this saw is lightly used and I want to bring her back up to shape.
I'm a 21 year old landscaper so chainsaws are nothing new but I have never worked on a saw of this vintage, hopefully I don't have touch the points
Anyways my uncles saw has the bullfrog carb and I can get it to run by spraying gas into the carb. But cant get to fire with bullfrog carb, I think its clogged somewhere. It was stored without fuel inside. I have been looking for bullfrog carb rebuild/gasket kit with no luck.
I found I deal for a rough but running 2-10 with the cube carb.
Between the 2 saws do I have the parts I needed to swap. Are there any mods needed to make or is it mostly bolt on.

Attachments

• 20211108_164235.jpg
    20211108_164235.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 14
  • 20211106_121633.jpg
    20211106_121633.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 15
That’s a tillotson carb. Standard on the 1-10 saws and seemed to be on some 2-10s also with the others having a walbro. The carb shoud I have the number stamped on the intake flange. Get that number and call up discount marine parts at 906-466-2180. They will get the correct kit for you. It’s more expensive than kits you will find on Amazon or eBay but it’s also more complete. It will include all your intake gaskets as well as carb gaskets. There are videos on rebuilding the carb and cleaning it and even more on doing work on the 10 series macs.
I did a 2-10 rebuild last year and love that little saw. Honed the cylinder, very mild port work, replaced piston, and rebuilt its walbro carb. That little thing pulls very nice for a 50+ year old saw.