Milling Dry timber

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nazjaz

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am just getting started milling. I have a Granberg mill and Stihl 064.
I can't seem to find any clear cut answers about what to expect when milling wood that has aged several years. Most of it will be Cedar, Black Walnut, Ash and Hackberry. How much shrinkage and or cracking should I expect or any other concerns?
Thank you in advance.

In my experience, when the tree has been down a while (say a year or two) there is still quite a bit of moisture inside the log, but not as much as there was when it was first felled. The slabs you take off will be mostly stable, not dry by any means, but at least stable enough that if you stack and sticker it properly the warping and shrinkage will be minimal. Your going to get some cracks no matter what you do, anchor seal the ends very well to help minimize that. after that the drying time does drop a little instead of 1 year per inch, depending on your climate, it can go down as much as 6 to 8 months per inch. keep the sun off them as much as you can. i like to cover mine in that weed preventer cloth from the garden store and throw a piece of sheet metal on top of the stack to keep the weather off them. the cloth breathes but does help keep them all in the shade. Bottom line there really is NO clear cut answers, it depends so much on so many variables. the type of wood, the climate your in, the place you store the slabs. how much air flow they get ext. Get a good moisture content indicator and watch it closely.