Most common size to cut oak lumber for wood workers?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Planning on cutting some lumber out of white oak. It’s a 4’ diameter + tree and was thinking 2x4 would be a good size but would like some other opinions. I’m thinking 3’ and 6’ long. I like keeping stuff little short so it don’t warp as bad and it’s lighter lol. Doing this Alaskan style with a 3120. I was thinking guys could make picnic tables and benches with them. I’m guessing some folks with money in there pocket would like to have a beautiful picnic bench in there deck area made of oak. Just a though lol. I’d really love to do a apple picnic table but the apple love to have lots of rot. Let me know what you guys think

I’ve been selling slabs for a couple years now and I’m into cutting thick slabs. My minimum is usually 3” thick and even that’s warps pretty good sometimes. I did some cedar that dried super flat actually. I don’t have a area yet for long slabs like bar tops but I would be opened to that if it’s a common seller. I’m also thinking doing some 4’x4’ square coffee tables. 3”-4”thick. Any thicker or longer I would be able to move it lol. That’s the problem I think I may run into milling big stuff Is if I can’t back my truck right up to it not sure I can load it lol

Depends on how good the log is. If it's gnarly, cut thick slabs as suggested. If it's clear, 4/4 would be better from a woodworkers view point. Need some 8/4 and 12/4 for table legs. Not much. Also consider Quarter Sawn 4/4 for W. Oak, too.
I don't understand your 3' or 6' lengths. I'd leave it full length, otherwise it's limiting on use.