MS 180C

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

omas

Reaction score
Hello, I was hoping someone could help me out. I'm not technically minded, but I'm trying to educate myself by attempting to get an older/neglected Stihl MS 180c working. After years of sitting, I wasn't able to get the chainsaw started and so after checking the gas filter which seemed fine, I bought a cheap carb from Amazon. With the new carb installed, I'm able to get it started and it will run and rev great for about a minute or two, but if I don't keep giving it some gas while it's idling it will die and then I will be unable to get it started again for about a day or so. Not sure what's going on here. Could the problem be the cheap carb? Should I purchase an OEM carb (or attempt to clean original carb) and go from there? Thanks for any help.

The Chinese carbs are hit or miss, but the fixed jet carbs that come on the saws aren't great either. How did you adjust the carb after you installed it?

Hello, I was hoping someone could help me out. I'm not technically minded, but I'm trying to educate myself by attempting to get an older/neglected Stihl MS 180c working. After years of sitting, I wasn't able to get the chainsaw started and so after checking the gas filter which seemed fine, I bought a cheap carb from Amazon. With the new carb installed, I'm able to get it started and it will run and rev great for about a minute or two, but if I don't keep giving it some gas while it's idling it will die and then I will be unable to get it started again for about a day or so. Not sure what's going on here. Could the problem be the cheap carb? Should I purchase an OEM carb (or attempt to clean original carb) and go from there? Thanks for any help.
Before spending more money pull the muffler and inspect for piston damage and burn the spark screen clean with a torch.