MS 261 - piston and rings after 60l/~15gal of alkylated gas + HP Ultra at 33:1

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LegeaDejului

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, I'm pretty new on here, used to be a lurker until recently. So I just got a new MS 261 (ver 3/carb) this spring and scrolling around during that time (including that 400-500 pages oil thread, oh god) I noticed that the veterans on this site aren't big fans of this oil. "Smells bad", "dirty" are probably the biggest complaints. I've been using it for a couple of years now with no issues, and Motul 800 offroad for my bigger saws as they manage to burn it off better than the lower CCs and I could buy it pretty cheap. Never had any problems with the top or bottom end while running these oils, but I also don't run my saws 50:1 or let those crappy H limiters on and have the saw running lean "for the environment" (also running lean can create some nasty crust on top of the piston from the lack of proper washing/overheating, no matter the oil used or the ratio). So from day one this saw was 4 stroking with no load at WOT and cleaning itself up when buried in wood, not once was it used out of tune.