MS192t plays up

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RegularG

Reaction score
Hey y’all,
I’m pretty new to everything and might need some guidance. I purchased a used Stihl MS192T off eBay. When it runs, it runs great, but it seem like every other time it won’t start and flood.
I talked to a view people around me I did some stuff on my own based on their recommendations:

- replaced fuel filter
- replaced spark plug
- cleaned out spark arrester in muffler
- replaced carburetor (off brand)
none of these things fixed the issue.
I gave it to a Stihl dealer in the area and they only say the carburetor needs to be replaced. Now, the problem persisted before the swap and i have the feeling they are going off the fact that it’s a non genuine part in there. Im not saying that it can’t be a dodgy off brand part, but So far my experience with Stihl dealers here has been „so so“ to say the least and these literally told me that they’d actually rather not do the $200 repair because the saw has been tinkered with before…

Does anyone have similar experiences and would like to share some wisdom?

would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks for the replies.
Yeah, I’ll test the carb on a mates saw to see if it’s just that and will probably get myself one from a more reputable source.
As far as I know the compression is fine but I wouldn’t know how to check for pressure leaks (hence the “I’m new to all this”).
I’ll have a look at the primer bulb. I do have the bits to replace that, so may as well, I guess.

I dont know how you can trouble shoot a saw with an aftermarket China carb unless you run the carb on another saw. You just cant be sure that carb is good .
Well, it’s easy: when one has no clue what they’re doing and goes off advice from people who have been in the industry for years without double checking the quality of the advice. ;-)