My Timberline Review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fields_mj

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
A little back ground to start off with. I've been sharpening with a round file for about 15 years. I've used some form of every kind of file guide system that I've been able to find, and probably a couple that haven't been made in the past few decades. My dad bought an Arnold Precision Sharpener back in the 70's and used it until the carbide burr wore out. He couldn't find a replacement so it sat on a shelf for a few decades until he gave it to me. That was before the Timberline existed. I found some places I could have some burrs made, but it was cost prohibitive. When the Timberline came out, I thought about buying a burr or two to see if they would work with his Arnold, but it took a few years before I finally got around to doing it. The burrs almost work. They are the right diameter, but they shank needs to be about 3/8" longer. Instead of using the hand crank, I chucked the burr in a cordless drill because the chuck will grab onto a pretty small section of the shank. I started using that set up and it was FANTASTIC. So I decided to get a Timberline and see how it compares. Now to the actual review.