Need 3" BearCat chipper advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Roger, it's an acre and a half.4 guys, a t650 with a grapple bucket, two cutters, and a bc 1500, done by noon. I've been doing this for twenty years.

I hear ya JL, and I don't doubt for one second that you are 100% right.

My issue is, I don't have "4-guys, a t650 with a grapple-bucket, two cutters, and a bc 1500". Heck, I can't even get a return phone-call from the owners' cousin, to see if he'll come with his 4x4 to tow a 3" chipper out of there when it's done. There's always plenty of "available helpers" until it's time for them to actually show up. Bottom line; I betcha I'll be doing this alone.

A little "history"; the original land-owner (now deceased), had made a deal with a guy to get that land cleared a few years ago. He gave the guy a tractor and a chipper, on the condition that this guy comes back and clears the land. This guy is a cop by the way, and,,,, he never came back.

Well, it's a done deal. I signed the papers today for the Wallenstein BXMT 3213 chipper/shredder. I agonized for a few days over buying the 4" machine(38 HP BXMT4238), but given the fact that winters' just about here, I didn't want that machine sitting idle 'til next May. The 3213 will give me the access I need for this job, and this will give me a few months to think about whether I'll add a larger machine next Spring.

http://www.embmfg.com/forestry/chipper_shredder/BXMT-Models.aspx#bxmt3213

BXMT3213full.png

enjoy, wally

Unfortunately, Wally's been cancelled. (for now anyway). Turns out that the 2.5% lease rate, was supposedly "a mistake", and that 2.5% was the "Multiplier ratio"(?????). The actual interest rate for the lease was going to be 13.09%, so I said "thanks, but no thanks".