New Stihl bar, chain hard to turn

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amin_1992

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm still new to maintaining a chainsaw. Got a Stihl MS250 that finally needed a new bar after 15 years. Bought the same bar, and the chain is new and matches my old chain. Both are the same gauge 0.063.

I installed it but the bar would not turn by hand. I also noticed I kind of had to push the links into the bar as I was tightening the chain.

Started the chainsaw, gave it throttle, it didn't move. I gave it throttle again and it broke loose and started spinning, and cut great.

Turned her off and tried turning the chain by hand. It's possible but it's definitely harder to turn than my old bar was. Is that normal? I could turn the chain on my old bar with just one finger. With the new one I have to grab it with my entire hand and really pull. It is smooth though, just hard to turn.

Wasn't sure if this was normal, for a new bar to need broken in. I tried spraying some oil in the links and that helped a hair.

Thanks all for the advice.

Hey all, I'm still new to maintaining a chainsaw. Got a Stihl MS250 that finally needed a new bar after 15 years. Bought the same bar, and the chain is new and matches my old chain. Both are the same gauge 0.063.

I installed it but the bar would not turn by hand. I also noticed I kind of had to push the links into the bar as I was tightening the chain.

Started the chainsaw, gave it throttle, it didn't move. I gave it throttle again and it broke loose and started spinning, and cut great.

Turned her off and tried turning the chain by hand. It's possible but it's definitely harder to turn than my old bar was. Is that normal? I could turn the chain on my old bar with just one finger. With the new one I have to grab it with my entire hand and really pull. It is smooth though, just hard to turn.