Nova tractor chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thewalnutguy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been using a Valby pto chipper for about 25 years, works great but wanted to get a chipper with powered rollers. I'm primarily using the chipper for branch trimming from black walnut, and have had to do quite a bit of side branch trimming to get the larger (3 to 4 inch diameter) to feed . Looked at the sites for several brands, found most of them were "currently out of stock". Would have preferred a USA made unit, but ended up going with Nova Tractor's BX102. I've had several issues with the mill, to start with one of the knobs to hold the input chute in position was missing, probably because the holes in the input chute didn't line up, preventing the guy assembling the unit at the factory from installing it. The distributor did provide a replacement, had to wait for it to come from China. The big issue however is that, especially when chipping smaller branches, especially those from spruce or cedar, there is significant accumulation of debris building up in the chipping chamber, wrapping around the flywheel's axle and between flywheel and sides of chamber. Contacted distributor, was directed to 1) adjust blade-to-anvil clearance to 2 to 3 mm max, and 2) run the chipper at higher rpm. I found that adjusting the blade clearance was a problem, as there's about 4 mm variance from one blade to another, so have to have clearance of 5 mm to prevent the blade with the minimum clearance from striking the anvil. Distributor said that variance of 5 mm or less "is acceptable". The chipper is sold as being used with either 540 or 1000 rpm, comes with a 540 6-spline connector. My tractor has only a 540 rpm pto. Distributor says that they've had issues with pine or cedar "stucking" the unit, that chipping "real wood" will help to clear the unit. When the unit ge