Open port cylinder grinding

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’ve been trying to look around and do some research and haven’t come up with a straightforward answer about this so I’m putting it out for the pros.

I’ve noticed on most open port cylinders there is a middle vane or blade if you will that runs the length of the transfers. When putting the cylinder for performance purposes, is there any value in grinding out that middle vane?
For example, on an MS 290 or 390 where that middle blade is really thick. Cannot be thinned or just removed all together?

I started playing around with a cheap little Warhawk cylinder for an ms180 and I noticed the blade was rather thin and tapered once it reached the upper transfer are. I’ve attached a picture of the 180 cylinder
You will see where I started to widen the lower transfer a bit but then I decided to pause and run this question by the forum before I took any more material out

Attachments

• 24F72B85-0443-4D6F-B31A-1A4D06C35932.jpeg
    24F72B85-0443-4D6F-B31A-1A4D06C35932.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 1
For what it’s worth, my plan is to push the limit on the intake timing so I’m thinking about what needs to happen with the transfers to get that air moved.

I am participating in an MS 170 build off and I’m playing around to see how much I can squeak out of this thing without getting into machining

I’ve been trying to look around and do some research and haven’t come up with a straightforward answer about this so I’m putting it out for the pros.

I’ve noticed on most open port cylinders there is a middle vane or blade if you will that runs the length of the transfers. When putting the cylinder for performance purposes, is there any value in grinding out that middle vane?
For example, on an MS 290 or 390 where that middle blade is really thick. Cannot be thinned or just removed all together?