Pferd CS-X sharpener question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

numnutz6383

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently ordered the Pferd CS-X sharpener to sharpen my 3/8" chains, namely the Oregon 72EXL081G and 72EXL070G. Oregon calls for a 7/32" file for that chain, Pferd's CS-X brochure for a 3/8” pitch chain says 13/64".

One of the threads here about the Pferd CS-X sharpener mentioned that the angle guide is set to 30°. Oregon's charts call for 25°.

I'm new to sharpening chains, I typically had them sharpened at my local Ace, so I'm not exactly sure what I'm gaining/losing by filing an an angle different by 5° or using a 7/32" diameter file vs a 13/64".

Are these differences anything to even stress about?

I use the .325 one on oregon chains.
The first time you use it it'll take a few extra swipes to get the angle changed and the file size is so close it's a non issue after the first sharpening.
I like the 30 degree angle better it's a hair faster cutting.

I use the .325 one on oregon chains.
The first time you use it it'll take a few extra swipes to get the angle changed and the file size is so close it's a non issue after the first sharpening.
I like the 30 degree angle better it's a hair faster cutting.
So you use the one with 3/16" file on 3/8" chains? Just making sure I'm understanding. Thanks

I'm using the .325 one on .325 chain. I was trying to point out I was using the sthil 30 degree angle on oregon chain without issue.
Aaah, I got it now. Not that it may matter, as the replies indicate, but for some of the .325 chains Oregon specifies 30°, and for others 25°. At least according to their angle guide document.

Attachments

• 2020-FilingGrindingAngles.pdf
    396.5 KB · Views: 0