Poulan hard to pull when starting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Question for Poulan experts:
My brother has some Poulan saws (waiting on models) he says are extremely hard to pull when starting cold. When it does try to fire, it can rip the starter rope out of your hand. He is surprised the rope does not break. With the plug out, the saw turns over freely. He is getting models for me but this seems pretty rare for smaller saws. I thought they could either be flooded/hydraulic lock or the timing somehow was messed with. The flywheel keys are intact and the crank is not damaged. There is no fuel in the crankcase. The only other thing I could think of is something screwed up in the ignition module. Has anyone seen modules cause something like this?

I’m no Poulan expert, but failed Stihl saw modules will do this, if the low rpm/start retarded timing is no longer working.

Are these the newer plastic body clamshells, or older Poulan saws with removable cylinder?

The way to eliminate the too advanced timing issue ‘kick back’ is to pull it with the plug in & kill switch off or spark plug lead removed.

Sounds more like combustion chamber carbon build up, bad starter pulleys/worn posts, ropes are too short or too small diameter, or even cylinder base gasket deletes (BGD) on early models with marginally designed starters.

A Poulan 5200 with a BGD & new piston rings will bloody your knuckles & bust ropes if you don’t pull the handle like it owes you money!

Another possibility. The crank shaft cannot turnover because of shrapnel inside the combustion chamber, likely caused by a piston snap ring that broke loose. The piston is toast and the cylinder says, "We are done." Surprisingly, the cylinder might still be usable, but the piston and rings are toast.