Questions about clutches, also cross-ref question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skeer007

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all! So I'm about to ask about something that is very likely frowned upon in most respectable forums. So I have a no-name Chinese chainsaw.. yes, yes I know. Go ahead.. laugh, get it all out now :)

The reasons are multiple, but suffice to say I'm not a pro but I do harvest firewood to help heat my house. I've also got like.. shoot IDK half a dozen kids or so, so I can't justify dumping the $$ it takes to get a real saw (even though I'd love to). I cut about 4 cords as year and the random limbs from storm damage. So this does what I need.
Anyway.. now that that's out of the way I sincerely hope that doesn't turn ya'll off from reading the rest. So I've got this 62cc saw and it's honestly been great. However the clutch design is rather bad, IMO. It's one of these: https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51Prs+mvYFL._AC_SX679_.jpg I've gone thru two of these now in the span of a year.. first time I broke one of the triad arms off removing it. This time the spring broke inside thereby locking it inside the drum. You can still cut but it's not fun nor as safe.
So I'm hoping to find a better replacement that'll fit. the thread pitch is 1.25mm and I calipered the hole and it's 9.5mm. It's driving a 3/8 7T rim sprocket if that makes any difference. I <believe> a Stihl 372 is 1.25 but it's a 14mm which is way too large. I can't find any sort of clutch specs chart, or crankshaft specs chart or anything that might be helpful unless Im just unfamiliar with the right keywords to search for.