Quickbooks Chart of Accounts

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waross

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I just bought Quickbooks Pro 2015. Of course I am just starting out in business as well. Have met with an accountant and he said pick up quickbooks. It will do just about everything I need and he can review around tax time. No problem I thought. But when I got into quickbooks I did the setup but only gave me basic accounts. I go into Chart of accounts and see how to add and am building accounts in excel to import. But I am sure I am missing some things.
Does anyone in here have quickbooks? and is willing to share a list of accounts that I can use as reference??

That would be a good start, but interested in all of the accounts people have listed to see what I am missing.

I use QBO and only use customer accounts, vendor accounts, and bank account information. Intuit makes this program to cover the widest possible swath of businesses and gives way too much information for the average user. When I click on the 'Chart of Accounts' I only have 5 or 6 fields populated with data out of over ~100 or so.

you need to set up your chart of accounts based on what your business looks like and what you want to keep tight control over. I wouldn't use someone elses. Also be advised that Quickbooks (Intuit) is a money grubbing, arrogant company that will take money from you every chance it gets. It is THE program for small business accounting but it has also been a monopoly. Once you get into it and use it for a while you will hate Intuit but it will be too expensive for you to change to something else. It might be the best solution for you but I would advise you to check out other offerings. I looked at Wave and liked it but too expensive for me to move. Be forewarned before you get stuck up the tree so to speak.

Eric
Pro Cut Tree Service Shoreline, WA