Recommendation for bull rope

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
The rope I've been using for at least ten years finally succumbed to wear and tear today. I'm pretty sure it's 1/2" and was, before it parted, 150' long. Before I order a replacement, I'd appreciate any suggestions/recommendations about rope type/brand, diameter, and length. I've seen good things about Samson double braid. I'm leaning towards 200' for a bit more separation. The 1/2" served well but I'm debating with myself whether benefits of 5/8" exceed the extra cost and weight.

If you've been to the GTGs at Bothe Park in Napa, you know the type of trees and terrain I'm dealing with at the Taylor Preserve. The pulling vehicle is usually a '46 Jeep that weighs about 2500 lbs or an even lighter Kubota RTV which is why I'm thinking 5/8" may be overkill.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

I use 1/2" Samson Stable Braid and 3/4" Samson SB. I would suggest looking at WesSpur site and also requesting a current catalog. I'm well aware of that beautiful Jeep you use to pull with. Anytime you pull with a vehicle you loose the ability to gauge tension in the rope so be very careful.

We also use 3/8" SB for small stuff it saves wear and tear on the expensive ropes. 10 years is a VERY long time for a bull rope to last. Remember that SB is a double braid rope and does not do well for natural crotch rigging. We also use 1/2" Samson Tree Master in those cases.

Bill, thanks for the info. WesSpur is currently at the top of my list. The rope is only used a few times a year, sometimes not at all, so I'm not surprised it lasted this long but it was definitely showing signs of wear.
Your comments have me leaning toward the 1/2". That size served well for a long time and the lighter weight is easier for us senior citizens (74, 80).