Small Chip Truck

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey everybody, I hope this thread isn't dead. But here's my train of thought. First of all I've been working in residential for about 6 years now and started out by doing jobs way up north where nobody would go and my clients didn't mind me and my guys shoving the branches in the forest out of sight and cut the trunks into firewood. This was very money limiting as I couldn't do any nice urban contracts that demand a quick/complete clean-up. Anyway, it was mostly a side-job at first. Next I got a 'Vermeer bc700xl chipper' and was able to chip the branches into the woods instead, much less work for justifiably better price. Filling my box with chip on a 1500 was unreasonable because basically needed to empty it every 2-3 maple trees. Anway, all this time I'd been shopping for the truck I wanted, without getting into the heavywheights and last year I finally found my '4x4 LBZ duramax 3500 crew cab Long box' (kinda wish it were single cab). Now the truck is equiped with a decorated plywood/2x4 box that goes about 4 ft above the top of the box edges, goes to say it's a pretty tall box. Now the Silverado's manual says the 3500 can hold 8000lbs in the box, and one eastern white pine tree (fully loaded box) has all my leafs leaning on the load stoppers. I don't have duallies but that's easily arranged.

I'd love to have a big fancy metal box with the dumper mechanism underneath, but I've been shopping for those boxes and with the extracost of the mechanism, it's unreasonable cost considering the extra weight of the whole thing and and my capacity. (balloons, but don't want to rely on them)

So I've been thinking of those dumper inserts, they apparently are rated for 6000lbs...