Starting a small bundling business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snyder191

Reaction score
What's up guys I'm new to the whole firewood game I've been cutting down trees and splitting for a couple years now. I'm interested in getting into the firewood bundles part of business I'm currently making a bundler based on some pictures I saw on here. I have saws, splitters, wedges, axes and all that stuff but what should I prepare myself for if I want to start selling bundles?

Insurance
Workers Comp
Taxes
Get an EIN from the IRS
I'd recommend an LLC, but seek legal counsel on that...not from an arborist!
Separate bank account. ALL business income goes into that and expenses come out. You can pay yourself out of that if there is any left over.
Do you have a marketing plan?

What's up guys I'm new to the whole firewood game I've been cutting down trees and splitting for a couple years now. I'm interested in getting into the firewood bundles part of business I'm currently making a bundler based on some pictures I saw on here. I have saws, splitters, wedges, axes and all that stuff but what should I prepare myself for if I want to start selling bundles?
PM me if you like. I have been in Twin Peaks for more than fourty years. I do not think there is any body around in Southern California That has any experience with wood. At least have not met any lately. To start with you will need a yard and at least fifty cords of wood. Sadly it is illegal to store wood in the mountins with few exceptions. I went through my directory and counted more thn two hundred people and businesses tht have come and gone since I started. There is a market for bundles though. Thanks

Every new business needs to take care of taxes and insurance if you do not want trouble down the road.